The Journal Gazette
Thursday, January 16, 2020 10:50 pm

Who's missing from Komets' Hall of Fame?

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

The Komets announced on Wednesday that they were inducting former captain Lincoln Kaleigh Schrock and NBC broadcaster into the team’s Hall of Fame.

That got me to thinking who was missing.

I have the full list of people who have been inducted so far below. Who do you think should be added to the list?

The first who comes mind for me is Ian Boyce, who played for Fort Wayne from 1990 to 1995 and 1997 to 1999. He checks a lot of boxes for me: Won a championship; captained the team; was a fan favorite for his play at both ends of the ice.

The other is Konstantin Shafranov, who played seven seasons between 1995 and 2010, then was an assistant coach with the team. He dazzled with his playmaking, was part of the introduction of former Soviet players to minor-league hockey, and had longevity here.

Aside from that, obviously, several members of the current ownership group who certainly aren’t rushing to induct themselves.


Executive Builders

Ken Ullyot, GM/Coach, Owner 1958-1982

Colin Lister, Business Manager, Owner 1959-1985

Don Myers, General Manager Memorial Coliseum

Ramon Perry, Owner 1952

Ernie Berg, Owner 1952

Harold Van Orman, Owner 1952

Earl Stritmatter, Off-Ice Official 1952-2003

Dick Zimmerman, Off-Ice Official/Statistician 1958-1990

Flossie Zimmerman, Komet office assitant 1966-1990

Win Rood, Supervisor of Minor Officials 1969-present

Ken Roehrs, Official scorer 1969-present

Don Detter, Statistician 1980-present

Ted Rolf, Statistician 1982-present

Ruth Wiegmann, Komets “Mom” and office assistant

Team Personnel

Eddie Long, 1952-1966

Len Thornson, 1957-1970

Terry Pembroke, 1964-1978

Robbie Irons, 1967-1981

Chuck Adamson, 1962-1967

Merv Dubchak, 1963-1970

Reggie Primeau, 1960-1969

Lionel Repka, 1958-1969

George Drysdale, 1952-1955

Roger Maisonneuve, 1957-1966

George Polinuk, 1955-1961

Cal Purinton, 1963-1973

Norm Waslawski, 1958-1969

John Goodwin, 1961-1969

Ted Wright, 1962-1970

Rob Laird, 1974-1989

Marc Boileau, Player/Coach, 1970-1974

Bobby Rivard, 1962-1966, 1974-75

Colin Chin, 1986-1996

Steve Fletcher, 1982-83, 1990-2002

Terry McDougall, 1975-1982

Guy Dupuis, 1991-2011

Nick Boucher, 2007-2012

Colin Chaulk, 2002-2013

Al Sims, 1989-1993, 2007-2013

Carey Lucyk, 1987-1995

Dale Baldwin, 1980-1987

Jim Burton, 1981-1990

Ron Leef, 1981-1987


Bob Reed, Journal Gazette

Carl Wiegman, Journal Gazette

Bud Gallmeier, News Sentinel

Hilliard Gates, WKJG TV 33

Bob Chase, WOWO Radio 1190

Dick DeFay, WKJG TV 33/Radio

Dean Pantazi, WPTA TV

Kent Hormann, WKJG TV, WPTA TV

Sign up for our Komets newsletter

Newsletter is sent Friday and Monday

Share this article