The Journal Gazette
Sunday, December 01, 2019 1:00 am

Buttigieg wins Visclosky endorsement

BRIAN FRANCISCO and NIKI KELLY | The Journal Gazette

U.S. Rep. Pete Visclosky, D-1st, has endorsed South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg for president, Buttigieg's campaign announced last week.

Visclosky said Monday in a statement that Buttigieg has a “successful record of creating economic opportunities for working families against great odds.” The longtime congressman from Merrillville said Buttigieg “can usher in a new era of economic success.”

Visclosky is among three Democrats in the House who have endorsed Buttigieg. Virginia Rep. Don Beyer did so in April, and New York Rep. Kathleen Rice announced her support Tuesday. 

Buttigieg has been running fourth among Democratic presidential contenders in most national polls, behind former vice president Joe Biden, Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders and Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren. But Buttigieg led a recent poll in Iowa and another in New Hampshire, the first states that will vote in next year's presidential primary and caucus elections, and he was second to Biden in the latest Quinnipiac University national survey released Tuesday.  

Committee shuffling

A retirement in the Indiana Senate has resulted in some shuffling of committee chairs and members.

Senate President Pro Tem Rodric Bray, R-Martinsville, announced these changes:

• Sen. Eric Koch, R-Bedford, will chair the Committee on Judiciary, Sen. R. Michael Young, R-Indianapolis, will serve as the ranking member, and Sen. Jon Ford, R-Terre Haute, will serve as a member of the committee.

• Sen. Sue Glick, R-LaGrange, will serve on the Committee on Rules and Legislative Procedure.

• Sen. Andy Zay, R-Huntington, will serve as a member of the Senate Committee on Appropriations.

• Sen. Stacey Donato, R-Logansport, will serve on the committees on Commerce and Technology; Education and Career Development; Elections; Family and Children Services; and Utilities.

In addition to the committee changes, Bray has named Sen. Liz Brown, R-Fort Wayne, as assistant majority floor leader for communications.

State appointments

Gov. Eric Holcomb last week announced the appointment of four residents of northeast Indiana to state boards and commissions.

• Allen County Commissioner Richard Beck of Fort Wayne was appointed to a four-year term on the Indiana Land Resources Council.

• Kimberly Gaff of Fort Wayne was appointed for a one-year term to the advisory committee for the Indiana Schools for the Deaf and the Blind or Visually Impaired Task Force & Advisory Committee. Gaff will represent parents.

• Byron Hooley of Fort Wayne was reappointed to a three-year term on the Indiana Standardbred Advisory Board.

• Former state representative Rebecca Kubacki of Syracuse was appointed to the Governor's Commission on Minority & Women's Business Enterprises.

To reach Political Notebook by email, contact Brian Francisco at or Niki Kelly at An expanded Political Notebook can be found as a daily blog at

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily

Share this article