The Journal Gazette
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 6:00 pm

Brooks, Eldridge on Silver Anniversary Team

VICTORIA JACOBSEN | The Journal Gazette

North Side's Keion Brooks Sr. and Wayne's Alan Eldridge have both been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame 2020 Silver Anniversary Team based on their accomplishments during the 1994-1995 season. The 18-man team will be honored at the Hall of Fame's annual awards banquet in Indianapolis on March 25.

Brooks was named AP high honorable mention and IBCA all-state after his senior season, in which he averaged 19.0 points and 5.2 rebounds. North Side went 21-5 and won a regional championship. He won the Tiffany Gooden Award, becoming the first player after Gooden herself to receive the honor. He went on to play at Wright State, where he earned all-conference recognition in all four years of play and was named Wright State Male Athlete of the Year in 1999. He was an assistant coach at North Side from 2013 to 2018 and still lives in Fort Wayne.

Eldridge was an Indiana All-Star and AP high honorable mention all-state honoree his senior season and was named the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel Player of the Year. He averaged 20.7 points as a senior as the Generals went 8-12 in their last season under coach Will Doehrman. Eldridge and the Generals had gone 20-6 and won a sectional title the previous year. Eldridge went on to play for Purdue, which reached the Sweet 16 in his junior and senior seasons there. He now lives in West Palm Beach, Florida. 

Brad Stevens, the former Butler coach and current coach of the Boston Celtics, is the most high-profile member of the anniversary team. He averaged 26.8 points per game as a senior at Zionsville. 

The Silver Anniversary team includes three players from state champion Ben Davis, which went 32-1 that season. Damon Frierson was named Mr. Basketball and a McDonald's All-American after setting the Giants' season (661) and career (1,452) scoring records. He is joined by teammates James Patterson and Courtney James. 

The Silver Anniversary Team is rounded out by Kent Ayer of South Spencer, Brad Bizxler of Jeffersonville, Duany Duany of Bloomington North, Michael Edison of Plymouth, Chuck Gilbert of Cathedral, Kyle Huckeby of New Castle, T.J. Lux of Merrillville, Jack Owens of Indianapolis Washington, Chad Peckinpaugh of McCutcheon, Mike Renfro of Beech Grove, Eric Riggs of Brownsburg and Marcus Wilson of South Bend Riley. 

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily

Share this article