The Journal Gazette
Wednesday, March 04, 2020 9:50 pm

High schools

Braves roll in 2A sectional opener


Blackhawk Christian enjoyed its first taste of postseason play in Class 2A, easily dispatching Whitko, 76-52, Wednesday in Class 2A Manchester Sectional quarterfinal play.

Zane Burke scored 23 points, all in the first three quarters, for Blackhawk (21-3), while Brett Sickafoose topped Whitko (10-13) with a game-high 35.

WARSAW 57, GOSHEN 56 (OT): In Elkhart, Wyatt Amiss’ rebound basket with seven seconds left in overtime secured the Tigers’ victory in the second game at North Side Gym in the Class 4A Elkhart Central Sectional. Warsaw (12-9) will play Penn, which defeated Elkhart Central in the first game, 52-51, in the semifinals on Friday.

WOODLAN 75, GARRETT 50: In Garrett, the Warriors saw Mitch Mendenhall pour in 28 points to dismiss the Railroaders from the Class 3A Garrett Sectional. Joe Reidy added 13 for Woodlan (14-10), who will now play Leo in Friday’s second semifinal, while Jayden Broadnax scored 25 for Garrett (2-20).

CENTRAL NOBLE 61, EASTSIDE 40: In Emma, Connor Essegian became the first-ever basketball player from Noble County to score 600 points in a single season as the Cougars advanced in the Class 2A Westview Sectional. Essegian, who grabbed 13 rebounds, made five three-pointers en route to a game-high 23 points. On Friday, Central Noble (21-4) will face Bremen, a 44-43 winner over Fairfield, in the second semifinal. Eastside (9-14) was led by Gabe Trevino’s 13 points.

SOUTH ADAMS 55, ADAMS CENTRAL 39: In North Manchester, the Starfires claimed the first Class 2A Manchester Sectional contest  thanks to 19 points from James Arnold and 13 from Aidan Wanner. South Adams (13-10) now plays No. 2 Blackhawk Christian in Friday’s second semifinal, while Adams Central, who got 12 points from Lucas Van De Weg, finished 9-15.

Girls basketball

Two Homestead players, senior Sydney Graber and Ayanna Patterson, landed on Supreme 15 All-State squads. Graber was named to the Supreme 15 senior squad, while Ayanna Patterson earned recognition on the Supreme 15 Underclass All-State team. Angola junior Hanna Knoll was selected to the Underclass Large School All-State team.

Area girls named to the senior honorable mention list include Woodlan’s Addison Bayman, Bellmont’s Meghan Busick and Kenzie McMahon, South Side’s Alaya Chapman and Jaci Jones, Warsaw’s Brielle Harrison and Kaylee Patton, Homestead’s Rylie Parker, Bishop Luers’ Lydia Reimbold, while Norwell’s Kaylee Fuelling and Maiah Shelton, Carroll’s Saniya Jackson and Emily Parrett, Lakewood Park’s Chloe Jolloff, Garrett’s Bailey Kelham and Morgan Ostrowski and Northrop’s TiAuna White were selected as underclass honorable mentions.


Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily